I recently began receiving a lot of what I consider SPAM from FanBox, under the guise of trusted friends and contacts. The subject is always the same John Doe sent a tiny youtube video to you (communication initiated on FanBox)”. Which immediately raised a few flags as most of my contact are not big forwarders nor do they initiate these types of messages. It is my policy to never click a link on any email unless I am one hundred percent sure that it is a legitimate link and even then I put the link into a vetting process by searching the internet for issues experienced by others. Although, some may consider this extreme, for most a call to the contact that initiated the correspondence should be enough as a vetting process.

After a few searches I initially didn’t find much on this new wave of emails but found enough to confirm my suspicion that indeed it was SPAM. What most had to say in regards to FanBox practices can be categorized by this quote from Consumer Fraud Reporting; “Fanbox.com, formerly known as sms.ac, is one of the most annoying and sleaziest spams and misrepresentations going right now”. [1. Consumer Fraud Reporting] It seems the SPAM from FanBox comes in a number of forms and are ever changing. Sadly, the person whose name is used is none the wiser until someone brings it to their attention. FanBox’s crafty subjects and emails may changes but their M.O. [2. Modus Operandi] is always the same. Thier end game is to gain access into the contact list of members who have registered with them so they can send emails to their contacts over again and again. The catchy subject lines and use of recognized names from people you know and in some instances may not get you to think the email is legitimate and then they cycle begins again and propagates in-boxes across the internet promoting their SPAM.

So who is FanBox? TechCrunch states “San Diego based FanBox from mobile solutions company SMS.ac offers a variety of services. From its front page it offers a reasonable web desktop package, complete with wordprocessing, IM and online storage. A social networking service is included, and the holding company sms.ac offers premium SMS services”.

“It sounds like a run of the mill package, except that like Plaxo in the past, FanBox spams potential signups by accessing the address books of its registered users. At least that’s what others have said, however I don’t recognize any of the names in the spam I’m now regularly receiving from the service, so it may well just be broad scale spamming of anyone and everyone”. [3. Duncan Riley – TechCrunch]

How to protect yourself. I would blacklist the domain on my email client or mark them as SPAM from your inbox. Although these emails may look like they are coming from some you know, in reality they are coming from email addresses like fbNOREPLY@myfanbox.com or possibly NOREPLY@fanboxnotes.com or the like. These email are ever changing so just mark them as SPAM when you come across them with out worry of blocking your contact as they will never use these addresses to actually email you from something important or in not important for that matter.

If you’ve been spammed by this company or got tricked into giving them your personal information, please leave us a comment and share your experience!

6 Responses

  1. I just got spammed by this group, and I was not going to open the link until I checked out the forums on them and sure enough they are scammers… I hope they are not sending out similar messages to my contacts… are they?? If so how do I stop them?? I don’t remember registering for their services.

    1. @ Jack – Are you receiving an email from a known contact with the link or are your contacts receiving the email? If you are receiving it from a known contact, I would notify the contact of the email and mark the incoming email as SPAM on your email client. That should stop the unwanted message from arriving in your inbox without worry of blocking your contact as they will never use these addresses to actually email you from something important or in not important for that matter.

  2. By the way, if I click on the link does that give them access to my contact list?? What is the link to?

    1. Jack, I don’t believe it does, I think that the link is there to entice you to sign up for the service and during that initial sign-up your contact list is accessed. What is unclear is where in the sign-up process it accesses your contact list and if the link itself has a payload. As a precaution, it is always a good idea when you believe you may have been compromised, to change your password just in case.

      If any one has any concrete info on how the contact list is accessed I would be interested in hearing about it.

  3. I recieved a message from this site and I thought my friend sent me that message because my friend name was written so I opend the message and I was refered to FanBox site to be stunned by a sexual video which is alleged that it was send by my friend and the most suspicious thing is that I found some of my friend on my alleged profile as fans although I didn’t register it before, but thanks God I observed that and thanks for your information about that weird site “FanBox”. Otherwise, I suspected my friend.
    But I think there is another solution if some people opend the message and they are refered to FanBox by their e-mails, press account in the right top corner on “Fanbox” site then account sittings then “Delete My Account” and choose the reason you want to delete the account, I chose ” I am receiving too many messages”, and press delete my account and choose yes in the dialogue box and a box should appear has the follwoing text and press ok :
    “Your account has been deleted.
    It may take 24 hours for you to completely stop receiving messages.
    We appreciate your patience while all aspects of your account are removed from all FanBox systems.
    Thanks for using SMS.ac! We hope to see you back soon.”

    1. Sara, thanks for your contribution to the thread, would be really interested to see if the messages do stop as stated. Please keep me posted. I read during my initial search for information on FanBox SPAM that the recommendation was not to cancel you account as this will encourage more spam. However, I can not confirm or deny this rumor. Possibly you can shed some light on this since you have already taken the plunge and attempted to cancel your account.Quote Below Sourced: Consumer Fraud Reporting “How to Block Fanbox Emails or Cancel Your Account””Don’t click on the link to cancel your account. That will only confirm to these scum that your email address is being used and ensure MORE spam. And since you never signed up for it, you haven’t got an account to cancel. They are just trying to trick you into clicking on a link and confirming your information”!

Comments are closed.